The   schools   of   Shito-Ryu   are   using   a   lot   of   Kata   from   different   styles   of   Okinawa.   But   not   all   shools   are   using   the   same   Kata.   So   the   Kata   of Ryuei-Ryu found there way into the Shito-Ryu in the late years of 1970. Mabuni-ha-Shito-Ryu of Kenei Mabuni the first son of Kenwa Mabuni don't use the Kata of Ryuei-Ryu. The Ryuei-Ryu Kata are not part of the original Shito-Ryu from Kenwa Mabuni.
Anker History of Shito-Ryu Until   1922   Karate   was   a   secret   Art,   done   in   Okinawa,   and   only   handed   down   to   member   of   the   own   family   or   a   few   well   known   person.   In Shuri,   the   former   capital   city,   Sokon   Matsumura   did   teach   Karate   of   the   Shorin-Ryu.   One   of   his   students   was   Yasutsune   Itosu,   who   later   did start   to   teach   Karate   at   the   elementary   schools   and   by   doing   this   he   also   finished   with   holding   the   secret.   One   more   master   of   Shuri   was Gichin Funakoshi who did learn with Anko Azato and Itosu. Funakoshi was the own who brought Karate to Japan in the year 1922. Kosaku   Matsumora   was   in   Tomari,   a   city   with   a   harbour   close   to   Shuri.   Todai   there   are   no   schools   of   Tomari-te   known   but   we   find   the   Kata and techniques in the Shorin-Ryu schools of the whole region around Shuri. Kanryo   Higashionna   did   live   in   Naha   and   was   master   of   the   Karate   known   as   Shorei-Ryu,   which   shows   big   difference   to   the   Karate   in   Tomari or Shuri. Also in Naha was Kenri Nakaima, the founder of Ryuei-Ryu. And near Naha in the village Niigaki was the school of Aragaki. As   well   known   Gichin   Funakoshi   did   learn   the   Karate   of   Shuri-te   from   Anko   Azato,   but   did   also   the   Kata   of   Tomari,   before   he   went   to   Tokio for the build the basement of the today Shotokan. With Shoto he did sign his Kalligraphie and the meaning of Kan is house. Chojun   Miyagi   did   learn   the   Art   of   Naha-te   from   Kanryo   Higashionna   and   went   to   Japan   into   the   city   Osaka   where   he   found   the   way   of   Goju- Ryu. Goju-Ryu means hard and soft and Ryu can be translate as style. Kenwa   Mabuni   was   the   one   who   did   learn   Shuri-te   and   Tomarite   from   master   Yasutsune   Itosu   and   Naha-te   from   Kanryo   Higashionna.   Also he   did   learn   the   Kata   of   the   Aragaki   school   and   from   the   chinese   Go   Kenki   the   Art   of   white   crane   Kata   like   Nipaipo,   Haufa,   Happoren   and Hakutsuru.   Kenwa   Mabuni   went   to   Osaka   and   found   the   way   of   Shito-Ryu.   Shito   is   based   by   the   nicknames   of   Itosu   (Shishu)   and Higashionna (Toonna). The name of the style is a kind of honour to this great masters. It   is   said   that   there   was   a   big   friendship   between   Kenwa   Mabuni   and   Chojun   Miyagi,   but   also   Gichin   Funakoshi   was   from   time   to   time   a guest   in   Mabuni’s   Dojo.   From   all   masters   Mabuni   was   the   one   known   for   his   great   knowledge   about   Kata.   There   was   nobody   who   did   study with similar obsession the different Kata of the styles. Also he did develop 8 own Kata, maybe even more. But   not   enough   by   this   Kenwa   Mabuni   was   also   a   great   master   of   Kobudo   and   one   of   the   teachers   of   Taira   Shinken.   A   who   saved   a   lot   of   old Kobudo Kata by making same public. As   Kenwa   Mabuni   passed   away   1956   the   separation   of   the   Shito-Ryu   did   start.   Not   only   his   both   sons   Kenzo   and   Kenei   Mabuni   found   own schools.   Also   other   masters   of   Shito-Ryu   did   create   own   schools   with   own   versions   of   the   Kata   or   did   add   Kata   like   Hayashi   did   with   the   Kata of Ryuei-Ryu. Today well known schools of Shito-Ryu are. Mabuni-ha-Shito-Ryu Seito-Shito-Ryu Itosu-Kai Tani-ha-Shito-Ryu Hayashi-ha-Shito-Ryu Hokushin-Shito-Ryu Sukunashi-ha-Shito-Ryu Basic   of   the   Shito-Ryu   is   the   authentic   Karate   of   Okinawa   with   the   schools   of   Shuri-te,   Tomari-te,   Naha-te,   the   Aragaki   school   and   the school of white crane from Go Kenki. This makes Shito-Ryu to the greatest and most versatile style of Karate. Shito-Ryu is using more than 60 Kata. More Kata as Shotokan, Goju-Ryu and Wado-Ryu together. If   it   is   the   right   thing   to   have   as   much   Kata   in   a   style   can   be   discussed.   But   on   the   other   hand   nobody   says   that   it   is   necessary   to   master   all these   Kata.   In   fact   the   Shito-Ryu   gives   the   possibility   to   the   students   to   take   a   look   to   the   summary   of   Karate   and   than   to   concentrate   on   a part of Karate which fits mostly. In   view   to   the   history   where   the   contact   between   the   schools   with   exchange   of   techniques   and   knowledge,   especially   between   Mabuni, Miyagi   and   Funakoshi   was   a   normal   thing   it   es   a   pity   that   this   isn't   any   more   today.   It’s   on   the   students   to   change   this.   Like   to   visit   foreign countries they could visit the lessons and stages of the other styles, without to take over their “nationality”. But   a   problem   it   is   if   the   Kata   of   the   Shito-Ryu   style   are   learnt   by   other   students   only   rudimentary   or   only   for   to   use   them   at   tournaments. To   learn   a   Kata   of   style   means   also   to   learn   the   Kihon   of   the   style.   If   a   Kata   will   be   done   with   the   false   Kihon   it   will   gives   a   wrong   impression about the Shito-Ryu to the audience and judges. Especially if they don’t not know the specialities of the Shito-Ryu style. If this will be done again and again it will have the effect hat the wrong way doing the Shito Ryu Kata will be seen as the right way. This   is   definately   not   what   a   style   diserve.   To   avoid   this   it’s   necessary   that   competitors   have   the   serious   interest   to   study   the   authenitc Kihon of the Shito-Ryu style. Of course in case of other styles like Goju Ryu or Shotokan it’s the same.  
Kihon Kata Ichi Kihon Kata Ni Kihon Kata San Kihon Kata Yon Ten no Kata Chi no Kata Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Matsukaze
Ananko Bassai Dai Bassai Sho Bassai Matsumura Bassai Tomari Chinte Chinto Chinto Tomari Jiin Jion Jitte Kosokun Dai Kosokun Sho Kushanku Naifanchin Shodan Naifanchin Nidan Naifanchin Sandan Rohai Matsumora Rohai Matsumura Rohai Shodan Rohai Nidan Rohai Sandan Seishan Wanshu Wanshu Tomari
Kururunfa Saifa Sanchin Sanseiru Seienchin Seipai Seisan Shinsei Shisochin Suparimpei Tensho
Gojushiho Niseishi Sochin Unshu
Nipaipo Hakkaku Hakucho Hakufa Hakutsuru Happoren Haufa Shinpa
Aoyagi Happo Sho Juroku Kensho Kenshu Myojo Shinsei Shiho Kosokun
Anan Heiku Pachu Paiho Paiku
The   schools   of   Shito-Ryu   are   using   a   lot   of   Kata   from   different   styles of   Okinawa.   But   not   all   shools   are   using   the   same   Kata.   So   the   Kata of   Ryuei-Ryu   found   there   way   into   the   Shito-Ryu   in   the   late   years   of 1970. Mabuni-ha-Shito-Ryu   of   Kenei   Mabuni   the   first   son   of   Kenwa   Mabuni don't use the Kata of Ryuei-Ryu. The   Ryuei-Ryu   Kata   are   not   part   of   the   original   Shito-Ryu   from   Kenwa Mabuni.
Kihon Kata Ichi Kihon Kata Ni Kihon Kata San Kihon Kata Yon Ten no Kata Chi no Kata Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Matsukaze
Bassai Dai Bassai Sho Bassai Matsumura Bassai Tomari Chinte Chinto Chinto Tomari Jiin Jion Jitte Ananko Kosokun Dai Kosokun Sho Kushanku Naifanchin Shodan Naifanchin Nidan Naifanchin Sandan Rohai Matsumora Rohai Matsumura Rohai Shodan Rohai Nidan Rohai Sandan Seishan Wanshu Wanshu Tomari
Kururunfa Saifa Sanchin Sanseiru Seienchin Seipai Seisan Shisochin Suparimpei Tensho
Gojushiho Niseishi Sochin Unshu
Nipaipo Hakkaku Hakucho Hakufa Hakutsuru Happoren Haufa Shinpa
Aoyagi Happo Sho Juroku Kensho Kenshu Myojo Shinsei Shiho Kosokun
Anan Heiku Pachu Paiho Paiku
History of Shito-Ryu Until    1922    Karate    was    a    secret    Art,    done    in    Okinawa,    and    only handed   down   to   member   of   the   own   family   or   a   few   well   known person.   In   Shuri,   the   former   capital   city,   Sokon   Matsumura   did   teach Karate   of   the   Shorin-Ryu.   One   of   his   students   was   Yasutsune   Itosu, who   later   did   start   to   teach   Karate   at   the   elementary   schools   and   by doing   this   he   also   finished   with   holding   the   secret.   One   more   master of   Shuri   was   Gichin   Funakoshi   who   did   learn   with   Anko   Azato   and Itosu.   Funakoshi   was   the   own   who   brought   Karate   to   Japan   in   the year 1922. Kosaku   Matsumora   was   in   Tomari,   a   city   with   a   harbour   close   to Shuri.   Todai   there   are   no   schools   of   Tomari-te   known   but   we   find   the Kata   and   techniques   in   the   Shorin-Ryu   schools   of   the   whole   region around Shuri. Kanryo   Higashionna   did   live   in   Naha   and   was   master   of   the   Karate known   as   Shorei-Ryu,   which   shows   big   difference   to   the   Karate   in Tomari   or   Shuri.   Also   in   Naha   was   Kenri   Nakaima,   the   founder   of Ryuei-Ryu. And near Naha in the village Niigaki was the school of Aragaki. As   well   known   Gichin   Funakoshi   did   learn   the   Karate   of   Shuri-te   from Anko   Azato,   but   did   also   the   Kata   of   Tomari,   before   he   went   to   Tokio for   the   build   the   basement   of   the   today   Shotokan.   With   Shoto   he   did sign his Kalligraphie and the meaning of Kan is house. Chojun   Miyagi   did   learn   the   Art   of   Naha-te   from   Kanryo   Higashionna and   went   to   Japan   into   the   city   Osaka   where   he   found   the   way   of Goju-Ryu.   Goju-Ryu   means   hard   and   soft   and   Ryu   can   be   translate   as style. Kenwa   Mabuni   was   the   one   who   did   learn   Shuri-te   and   Tomarite   from master   Yasutsune   Itosu   and   Naha-te   from   Kanryo   Higashionna.   Also he   did   learn   the   Kata   of   the   Aragaki   school   and   from   the   chinese   Go Kenki   the   Art   of   white   crane   Kata   like   Nipaipo,   Haufa,   Happoren   and Hakutsuru.   Kenwa   Mabuni   went   to   Osaka   and   found   the   way   of   Shito- Ryu.    Shito    is    based    by    the    nicknames    of    Itosu    (Shishu)    and Higashionna   (Toonna).   The   name   of   the   style   is   a   kind   of   honour   to this great masters. It   is   said   that   there   was   a   big   friendship   between   Kenwa   Mabuni   and Chojun   Miyagi,   but   also   Gichin   Funakoshi   was   from   time   to   time   a guest   in   Mabuni’s   Dojo.   From   all   masters   Mabuni   was   the   one   known for   his   great   knowledge   about   Kata.   There   was   nobody   who   did   study with   similar   obsession   the   different   Kata   of   the   styles.   Also   he   did develop 8 own Kata, maybe even more. But   not   enough   by   this   Kenwa   Mabuni   was   also   a   great   master   of Kobudo   and   one   of   the   teachers   of   Taira   Shinken.   A   who   saved   a   lot of old Kobudo Kata by making same public. As   Kenwa   Mabuni   passed   away   1956   the   separation   of   the   Shito-Ryu did   start.   Not   only   his   both   sons   Kenzo   and   Kenei   Mabuni   found   own schools.   Also   other   masters   of   Shito-Ryu   did   create   own   schools   with own   versions   of   the   Kata   or   did   add   Kata   like   Hayashi   did   with   the Kata of Ryuei-Ryu. Today well known schools of Shito-Ryu are. Mabuni-ha-Shito-Ryu Seito-Shito-Ryu Itosu-Kai Tani-ha-Shito-Ryu Hayashi-ha-Shito-Ryu Hokushin-Shito-Ryu Sukunashi-ha-Shito-Ryu Basic   of   the   Shito-Ryu   is   the   authentic   Karate   of   Okinawa   with   the schools   of   Shuri-te,   Tomari-te,   Naha-te,   the   Aragaki   school   and   the school   of   white   crane   from   Go   Kenki.   This   makes   Shito-Ryu   to   the greatest and most versatile style of Karate. Shito-Ryu   is   using   more   than   60   Kata.   More   Kata   as   Shotokan,   Goju- Ryu and Wado-Ryu together. If   it   is   the   right   thing   to   have   as   much   Kata   in   a   style   can   be discussed.   But   on   the   other   hand   nobody   says   that   it   is   necessary   to master   all   these   Kata.   In   fact   the   Shito-Ryu   gives   the   possibility   to the   students   to   take   a   look   to   the   summary   of   Karate   and   than   to concentrate on a part of Karate which fits mostly. In   view   to   the   history   where   the   contact   between   the   schools   with exchange   of   techniques   and   knowledge,   especially   between   Mabuni, Miyagi   and   Funakoshi   was   a   normal   thing   it   es   a   pity   that   this   isn't any   more   today.   It’s   on   the   students   to   change   this.   Like   to   visit foreign   countries   they   could   visit   the   lessons   and   stages   of   the   other styles, without to take over their “nationality”. But   a   problem   it   is   if   the   Kata   of   the   Shito-Ryu   style   are   learnt   by other    students    only    rudimentary    or    only    for    to    use    them    at tournaments.   To   learn   a   Kata   of   style   means   also   to   learn   the   Kihon of   the   style.   If   a   Kata   will   be   done   with   the   false   Kihon   it   will   gives   a wrong   impression   about   the   Shito-Ryu   to   the   audience   and   judges. Especially   if   they   don’t   not   know   the   specialities   of   the   Shito-Ryu style. If this will be done again   and   again   it   will   have   the   effect   hat   the   wrong   way   doing   the Shito Ryu Kata will be seen as the right way. This   is   definately   not   what   a   style   diserve.   To   avoid   this   it’s   necessary that   competitors   have   the   serious   interest   to   study   the   authenitc Kihon   of   the   Shito-Ryu   style.   Of   course   in   case   of   other   styles   like Goju Ryu or Shotokan it’s the same.
Karatekata
Shito Ryu
Karatekata
Shito Ryu

Die   Schulen   des   Shito-Ryu   benutzen   eine   Vielzahl   von   Kata   aus   den   verschiedenen   okinawanischen   Stilrichtungen.   Dabei   ist   die   Auswahl   der verwendeten   Kata   nicht   einheitlich.   So   sind   Kata   des   Ryuei-Ryu   erst   Ende   der   70er   Jahre   in   den   Bestand   der   Stilrichtung   aufgenommen worden.   In   der   Schule   von   Kenei   Mabuni,   dem   ältesten   Sohn   von   Kenwa   Mabuni   und   Soke   des   Mabuni-ha-Shito-Ryu   sind   die   Kata   des Ryuei-Ryu nicht enthalten. Die Ryuei-Ryu Kata gehören nicht zum ursprünglichen Shito-Ryu von Kenwa Mabuni.
Anker Geschichte des Shito-Ryu Bis   1922   war   Karate   eine   geheime   Kunst   auf   Okinawa,   die   nur   an   Familienmitglieder   und   ausgewählte   Schüler   weitergegeben   wurde.   In Shuri,   der   damaligen   Hauptstadt,   lehrte   Sokon   Matsumura   Shorin   Ryu.   Einer   seiner   Schüler   war   Yasutsune   Itosu,   der   später   Karate   an   den Grundschulen   einführte   und   so   die   Geheimhaltung   aufhob.   Ein   weiterer   Meister   aus   Shuri   war   Gichin   Funakoshi   der   bei   Anko   Azato   und   itosu lernte und Karate 1922 nach Japan brachte. Kosaku   Matsumora   lehrte   in   Tomari,   einer   Hafenstadt   nahe   bei   Shuri.   Heute   sind   die   Techniken   und   Kata   aus   Tomari   in   den   Schulen   des Shorin Ryu in Shuri enthalten. Eindeutige Tomari-Schulen sind hingegen nicht mehr bekannt. Kanryo Higashionna lehrte in Naha ein Karate, das sich von der in Tomari und Shuri geübten Kunst deutlich unterschied. Ebenfalls in Naha beheimatet war Kenri Nakaima, der Begründer des Ruyei-Ryu. Und in Niigaki befand sich die Schule von Aragaki. Gichin   Funakoshi   lernte   Shuri-te   bei   Ankao   Azato,   lernte   aber   auch   offensichtlich   die   Kata   des   Tomari-te,   bevor   er   nach   Tokyo   ging   und   den Grundstein für das heutige Shotokan legte. Mit Shoto unterzeichnete Funakoshi seine Kalligraphien und Kan bedeutet soviel wie Haus. Chojun   Miyagi   lernte   Naha-te   bei   Kanryo   Higashionna,   ging   nach   Osaka   und   gründete   das   Goju-Ryu.   Goju   bedeutet   Hart   und   Weich,   Ryu kann mit Richtung oder Stil übersetzt werden. Kenwa   Mabuni   lernte   Shuri-te   und   Tomari-te   bei   Yasutsune   Itosu   und   Naha-te   bei   Kanryo   Higashionna,   ebenso   lernte   er   die   Kata   der Aragaki-Schule und vom Chinesen Go Kenki die Kata des weißen Kranichs wie Nipaipo, Haufa, Happoren und Hakutsuru. Kenwa   Mabuni   ging   ebenfalls   nach   Osaka   und   gründete   dort   das   Shito-Ryu.   Shito   bezieht   sich   auf   die   Spitznamen   von   Itosu   (Shishu)   und Higashionna (Toonna). Der Name des Stils ist somit eine Ehrung dieser beiden Meister. Es   heißt   das   es   eine   Freundschaft   zwischen   Kenwa   Mabuni   und   Chojun   Miyagi   gab,   aber   auch   Gichin   Funakoshi   war   des   öfteren   Gast   bei Kenwa   Mabuni   in   dessen   Dojo.   Unter   allen   Meistern   war   Mabuni   für   sein   immenses   Wissen   hinsichtlich   der   Kata   bekannt.   Es   gab   wohl niemanden   der   mit   vergleichbarer   Leidenschaft   die   verschiedensten   Kata   studiert   und   darüber   hinaus   noch   mindestens   8   eigene   Kata entwickelt   hat.   Damit   nicht   genug   studierte   Kenwa   Mabuni   noch   Kobudo   und   war   einer   der   Lehrer   von   Shinken   Taira.   Ein   Meister   dem   es   zu verdanken ist das viele alte Kobudo-Kata veröffentlicht, verbreitet und damit „gerettet“ wurden. Als   Kenwa   Mabuni   1956   starb   begann   die   Aufteilung   des   Shito-Ryu.   Nicht   nur   seine   beiden   Söhne   Kenzo   und   Kenei   Mabuni   gründeten   ihre eigene   Schulen.   Auch   andere   Meister   des   Shito-Ryu   gingen   eigene   Wege   und   haben   das   ursprüngliche   Shito-Ryu   nach   eigenem   Ermessen verändert oder Elemente wie das Ryuei-Ryu hinzugefügt. Bekannte Schulen sind heute. Mabuni-ha-Shito-Ryu Seito-Shito-Ryu Itosu-Kai Tani-ha-Shito-Ryu Hayashi-ha-Shito-Ryu Hokushin-Shito-Ryu Sukunashi-ha-Shito-Ryu Grundlage   des   Shito-Ryu   ist   das   authentische   okinawanische   Karate   der   Schulen   des   Shuri-te,   Tomari-te,   Naha-te   der   Aragaki-Schule   und der Schule des Weißen Kranichs von Go Kenki. Dies macht Shito-Ryu zum umfangreichsten und vielseitigsten Karate-Stil überhaupt. Shito-Ryu   benutzt   mit   über   60   Kata   mehr   Kata   als   Shotokan,   Goju-Ryu   und   Wado-Ryu   zusammen.   Ob   es   Sinn   macht   das   ein   Karate-Stil   so viele   Kata   benutzt   kann   natürlich   diskutiert   werden.   Andererseits   muß   niemand   all   diese   Kata   beherrschen.   Im   Gegenteil   bietet   Shito-Ryu damit dem Übenden die Möglichkeit sich auf den Teil des Karate zu konzentrieren den er als für ihn geeignetsten erkannt hat. Angesichts   der   Vergangenheit   wo   ein   reger   Kontakt   und   Austausch   zwischen   den   Schulen   stattfand,   speziell   zwischen   Mabuni,   Miyagi   und Funakoshi   ist   es   sehr   Schade   das   dies   heute   nicht   mehr   so   ist.   Es   liegt   an   den   Schülern   dies   zu   ändern,   so   wie   man   fremde   Länder   besucht kann man auch Stilrichtungsoffene Lehrgänge besuchen, ohne gleich deren „Staatsangehörigkeit“ anzunehmen. Problematisch   wird   es   jedoch   wenn   die   Kata   des   Shito-Ryu   von   anderen   Stilrichtungen   nur   oberflächlich   gelernt   werden,   um   sie   dann   für Wettkämpfe   zu   verwenden.   Dies   führt   sehr   oft   zu   einer   falschen   Präsentation   des   Kihons   des   Shito-Ryu,   was   aber   von   Zuschauern   und Kampfrichtern,   die   nicht   mit   den   Eigenheiten   des   Shito-Ryu   vertraut   sind,   nicht   erkannt   werden   kann.   Tritt   dies   wiederholt   auf,   wird   dieses falsche   Shito-Ryu   als   das   Richtige   angesehen,   was   keinesfalls   im   Interesse   des   Shito-Ryu   liegen   kann.   Dies   läßt   sich   jedoch   nur   verhindern, wenn   die   betreffenden   Athleten   ernsthaft   um   die   Erlernung   des   authentischen   Kihons   des   Shito-Ryu   bemüht   sind,   statt   nur   die   Abläufe   der Kata einzuüben. Für andere Stilrichtunge, wie Goju Ryu oder Shotokan, gilt dies natürlich ebenso.  
Kihon Kata Ichi Kihon Kata Ni Kihon Kata San Kihon Kata Yon Ten no Kata Chi no Kata Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Matsukaze
Bassai Dai Bassai Sho Bassai Matsumura Bassai Tomari Chinte Chinto Chinto Tomari Jiin Jion Jitte Ananko Kosokun Dai Kosokun Sho Kushanku Naifanchin Shodan Naifanchin Nidan Naifanchin Sandan Rohai Matsumora Rohai Matsumura Rohai Shodan Rohai Nidan Rohai Sandan Seishan Wanshu Wanshu Tomari
Kururunfa Saifa Sanchin Sanseiru Seienchin Seipai Seisan Shisochin Suparimpei Tensho
Gojushiho Niseishi Sochin Unshu
Nipaipo Hakkaku Hakucho Hakufa Hakutsuru Happoren Haufa Shinpa
Aoyagi Happo Sho Juroku Kensho Kenshu Myojo Shinsei Shiho Kosokun
Anan Heiku Pachu Paiho Paiku
Die   Schulen   des   Shito-Ryu   benutzen   eine   Vielzahl   von   Kata   aus   den verschiedenen   okinawanischen   Stilrichtungen.   Dabei   ist   die   Auswahl der   verwendeten   Kata   nicht   einheitlich.   So   sind   Kata   des   Ryuei-Ryu erst     Ende     der     70er     Jahre     in     den     Bestand     der     Stilrichtung aufgenommen   worden.   In   der   Schule   von   Kenei   Mabuni,   dem   ältesten Sohn   von   Kenwa   Mabuni   und   Soke   des   Mabuni-ha-Shito-Ryu   sind   die Kata des Ryuei-Ryu nicht enthalten. Die   Ryuei-Ryu   Kata   gehören   nicht   zum   ursprünglichen   Shito-Ryu   von Kenwa Mabuni.
Kihon Kata Ichi Kihon Kata Ni Kihon Kata San Kihon Kata Yon Ten no Kata Chi no Kata Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Matsukaze
Bassai Dai Bassai Sho Bassai Matsumura Bassai Tomari Chinte Chinto Chinto Tomari Jiin Jion Jitte Ananko Kosokun Dai Kosokun Sho Kushanku Naifanchin Shodan Naifanchin Nidan Naifanchin Sandan Rohai Matsumora Rohai Matsumura Rohai Shodan Rohai Nidan Rohai Sandan Seishan Wanshu Wanshu Tomari
Kururunfa Saifa Sanchin Sanseiru Seienchin Seipai Seisan Shisochin Suparimpei Tensho
Gojushiho Niseishi Sochin Unshu
Nipaipo Hakkaku Hakucho Hakufa Hakutsuru Happoren Haufa Shinpa
Aoyagi Happo Sho Juroku Kensho Kenshu Myojo Shinsei Shiho Kosokun
Anan Heiku Pachu Paiho Paiku
Geschichte des Shito-Ryu Bis   1922   war   Karate   eine   geheime   Kunst   auf   Okinawa,   die   nur   an Familienmitglieder   und   ausgewählte   Schüler   weitergegeben   wurde.   In Shuri,   der   damaligen   Hauptstadt,   lehrte   Sokon   Matsumura   Shorin Ryu.   Einer   seiner   Schüler   war   Yasutsune   Itosu,   der   später   Karate   an den   Grundschulen   einführte   und   so   die   Geheimhaltung   aufhob.   Ein weiterer   Meister   aus   Shuri   war   Gichin   Funakoshi   der   bei   Anko   Azato und itosu lernte und Karate 1922 nach Japan brachte. Kosaku   Matsumora   lehrte   in   Tomari,   einer   Hafenstadt   nahe   bei   Shuri. Heute   sind   die   Techniken   und   Kata   aus   Tomari   in   den   Schulen   des Shorin    Ryu    in    Shuri    enthalten.    Eindeutige    Tomari-Schulen    sind hingegen nicht mehr bekannt. Kanryo   Higashionna   lehrte   in   Naha   ein   Karate,   das   sich   von   der   in Tomari und Shuri geübten Kunst deutlich unterschied. Ebenfalls   in   Naha   beheimatet   war   Kenri   Nakaima,   der   Begründer   des Ruyei-Ryu. Und in Niigaki befand sich die Schule von Aragaki. Gichin   Funakoshi   lernte   Shuri-te   bei   Ankao   Azato,   lernte   aber   auch offensichtlich   die   Kata   des   Tomari-te,   bevor   er   nach   Tokyo   ging   und den     Grundstein     für     das     heutige     Shotokan     legte.     Mit     Shoto unterzeichnete   Funakoshi   seine   Kalligraphien   und   Kan   bedeutet   soviel wie Haus. Chojun   Miyagi   lernte   Naha-te   bei   Kanryo   Higashionna,   ging   nach Osaka   und   gründete   das   Goju-Ryu.   Goju   bedeutet   Hart   und   Weich, Ryu kann mit Richtung oder Stil übersetzt werden. Kenwa   Mabuni   lernte   Shuri-te   und   Tomari-te   bei   Yasutsune   Itosu   und Naha-te    bei    Kanryo    Higashionna,    ebenso    lernte    er    die    Kata    der Aragaki-Schule   und   vom   Chinesen   Go   Kenki   die   Kata   des   weißen Kranichs wie Nipaipo, Haufa, Happoren und Hakutsuru. Kenwa   Mabuni   ging   ebenfalls   nach   Osaka   und   gründete   dort   das Shito-Ryu.   Shito   bezieht   sich   auf   die   Spitznamen   von   Itosu   (Shishu) und   Higashionna   (Toonna).   Der   Name   des   Stils   ist   somit   eine   Ehrung dieser beiden Meister. Es    heißt    das    es    eine    Freundschaft    zwischen    Kenwa    Mabuni    und Chojun   Miyagi   gab,   aber   auch   Gichin   Funakoshi   war   des   öfteren   Gast bei   Kenwa   Mabuni   in   dessen   Dojo.   Unter   allen   Meistern   war   Mabuni für   sein   immenses   Wissen   hinsichtlich   der   Kata   bekannt.   Es   gab   wohl niemanden   der   mit   vergleichbarer   Leidenschaft   die   verschiedensten Kata   studiert   und   darüber   hinaus   noch   mindestens   8   eigene   Kata entwickelt    hat.    Damit    nicht    genug    studierte    Kenwa    Mabuni    noch Kobudo   und   war   einer   der   Lehrer   von   Shinken   Taira.   Ein   Meister   dem es    zu    verdanken    ist    das    viele    alte    Kobudo-Kata    veröffentlicht, verbreitet und damit „gerettet“ wurden. Als   Kenwa   Mabuni   1956   starb   begann   die   Aufteilung   des   Shito-Ryu. Nicht   nur   seine   beiden   Söhne   Kenzo   und   Kenei   Mabuni   gründeten   ihre eigene   Schulen.   Auch   andere   Meister   des   Shito-Ryu   gingen   eigene Wege     und     haben     das     ursprüngliche     Shito-Ryu     nach     eigenem Ermessen   verändert   oder   Elemente   wie   das   Ryuei-Ryu   hinzugefügt. Bekannte Schulen sind heute. Mabuni-ha-Shito-Ryu Seito-Shito-Ryu Itosu-Kai Tani-ha-Shito-Ryu Hayashi-ha-Shito-Ryu Hokushin-Shito-Ryu Sukunashi-ha-Shito-Ryu Grundlage   des   Shito-Ryu   ist   das   authentische   okinawanische   Karate der   Schulen   des   Shuri-te,   Tomari-te,   Naha-te   der   Aragaki-Schule   und der   Schule   des   Weißen   Kranichs   von   Go   Kenki.   Dies   macht   Shito-Ryu zum umfangreichsten und vielseitigsten Karate-Stil überhaupt. Shito-Ryu   benutzt   mit   über   60   Kata   mehr   Kata   als   Shotokan,   Goju- Ryu   und   Wado-Ryu   zusammen.   Ob   es   Sinn   macht   das   ein   Karate-Stil so   viele   Kata   benutzt   kann   natürlich   diskutiert   werden.   Andererseits muß   niemand   all   diese   Kata   beherrschen.   Im   Gegenteil   bietet   Shito- Ryu   damit   dem   Übenden   die   Möglichkeit   sich   auf   den   Teil   des   Karate zu konzentrieren den er als für ihn geeignetsten erkannt hat. Angesichts   der   Vergangenheit   wo   ein   reger   Kontakt   und   Austausch zwischen   den   Schulen   stattfand,   speziell   zwischen   Mabuni,   Miyagi   und Funakoshi   ist   es   sehr   Schade   das   dies   heute   nicht   mehr   so   ist.   Es liegt   an   den   Schülern   dies   zu   ändern,   so   wie   man   fremde   Länder besucht    kann    man    auch    Stilrichtungsoffene    Lehrgänge    besuchen, ohne gleich deren „Staatsangehörigkeit“ anzunehmen. Problematisch    wird    es    jedoch    wenn    die    Kata    des    Shito-Ryu    von anderen   Stilrichtungen   nur   oberflächlich   gelernt   werden,   um   sie   dann für   Wettkämpfe   zu   verwenden.   Dies   führt   sehr   oft   zu   einer   falschen Präsentation   des   Kihons   des   Shito-Ryu,   was   aber   von   Zuschauern und    Kampfrichtern,    die    nicht    mit    den    Eigenheiten    des    Shito-Ryu vertraut   sind,   nicht   erkannt   werden   kann.   Tritt   dies   wiederholt   auf, wird    dieses    falsche    Shito-Ryu    als    das    Richtige    angesehen,    was keinesfalls   im   Interesse   des   Shito-Ryu   liegen   kann.   Dies   läßt   sich jedoch   nur   verhindern,   wenn   die   betreffenden   Athleten   ernsthaft   um die   Erlernung   des   authentischen   Kihons   des   Shito-Ryu   bemüht   sind, statt   nur   die   Abläufe   der   Kata   einzuüben.   Für   andere   Stilrichtunge, wie Goju Ryu oder Shotokan, gilt dies natürlich ebenso.  
Karatekata
Shito Ryu
Karatekata
Shito Ryu