Rohai   is   known   in   the   Matsumora   school   of   Tomari-te   lineage   as   well   as   in   the Matsumura   school   of   Shuri-te   lineage.   Rohai   is   from   the   white   crane   style   but   not   as dynamic   as   Chinto   and   also   not   as   strange   and   mysterious   as   Hakutsuru,   Hakkaku   or Haufa. The   Kata   shows   elegance   and   majetic   and   it   is   very   difficult   to   find   the   right   way between calmness and dynamic. With   Shuto   Barai   using   Sagi   Ashi   Dachi   it   includes   a   very   elegance   motion   followed   by a really demolishing counterattack. Rohai is very good for to improve the skills of balance. The   Kata   Meikyo   is   known   as   the   Shotokan   version   of   Rohai.   Reason   for   this   is   a similar movement in the beginning. But   in   fact   the   Meikyo   shows   no   other   relationship   to   the   Rohai   wheter   in   technical part nor in the concept.
Matsumora Rohai
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane Moves: 45
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito-Ryu
Level Medium
The   Matsumura   Rohai   is   similiar   to   the   Matsumora   Rohai.   Both   versions   are   nearly identical,   though   the   Matsumura   shool   prefere   a   more   direct   performance   of   the techniques. Also the stances are different and the whole Kata has a higher dynamic. For   the   beginning   of   the   Kata   we   find   different   versions.   One   of   them   shows   a combination with three techniques, instead of one. The   exact   number   of   Movements   of   the   most   of   traditional   Kata   can   not   be   count   for sure, because a lot of schools have own versions and add or delete a movement. Sokon   Matsumura   has   developed   the   Rohai   not   only   in   some   parts   and   techniques, but also in the inner dynamic, still using the principles of the white crane shool. The   Matsumora   Rohai   shows   the   calm   and   proudful   crane,   while   the   Matsumura   Rohai shows an vital and activ Rohai.
Matsumura Rohai
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane Moves: 41
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito-Ryu
Level Medium
Rohai Shodan
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane 1 Moves: 21
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito-Ryu
Level Medium
Yasutsune   Itosu   made   Rohai   Shodan   based   on   the   Kata   Rohai.   The   Kata   is   also   known as Itosu no Rohai Shodan. These   Rohai   form   is   in   the   beginning   similar   to   the   Matsumura   Rohai,   but   continues with   an   enbusen   to   the   side.   Also   clear   differences   are   to   see   in   the   used   techniques. So   the   Ashi   Barai   techniques   are   more   complicate   and   demand   a   precise   insertion   of the    body    with    a    good    using    of    the    body    weight.    The    Kata    is    very    short,    but interesting. It is versatile and with elegance.
Rohai Nidan
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane 2 Moves: 51
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito-Ryu
Level Medium
In   counterpart   ot   the   traditionell   Rohai   Kata,   the   Rohai   Nidan   shows   non   of   the   typical specialities the other Rohai have. So   we   don't   find   any   technique   which   will   be   done   standing   on   one   leg.   The   Kata   is also clearly longer as Rohai, or Rohai Shodan and Sandan. Some   techniques   like   Shuto   Uke   in   Kosa   Dachi   will   be   done   again   and   again   in   4 directions   at   all.   Analyzing   this   part   of   the   Kata   we   find   some   kind   of   a   mirror concept. And   in   fact   these   Rohai   Nidan   seems   to   be   the   basic   Kata   for   the   development   of   Kata Meikyo.
Rohai Sandan
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane 3 Moves: 40
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito-Ryu
Level Medium
Rohai   Sandan   also   don't   use   the   typical   techniques   of   the   traditionel   Rohai.   It   is shorter   than   Rohai   Nidan,   but   clearly   longer   than   Rohai   Shodan.   Also,   like   the   other versions   of   Itosu   Rohai,   the   Kata   is   not   often   to   see.   But   the   technique   Sukui   Uke   has been taken into the development of Shotokan Kata Meikyo. Rohai   Sandan   includes   also   techniques   which   we   find   in   the   Kosokun   Sho.   Because   of this it can be supposed if Itosu did first create Rohai Sandan or Kosokun Sho. Some   techniques   using   the   centrifugal   force   of   the   shoulder   joint   and   reminds   to   the Kata   Chinte.   And   furthermore   the   beginning   of   the   Kata   is   a   bit   similar   to   the   concept of the beginning from Matsumura Rohai and very dynamic.
Seishan
Meaning of the name Thirteen Moves: 56
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito-Ryu
Level Medium
Seishan   is   mainly   known   in   the   Style   of   Matsumura   Sokon.   This   Seishan   is   the   root   of Shotokan Kata Hangetsu. Only the beginning reminds to the Kata Seisan of Naha-te (Shorei-ryu) The   main   part   of   the   Kata   follows   the   concept   and   the   combinations   of   the   Aragaki Seisan. So   it’s   hard   to   believe   that   Seishan   is   a   just   a   version   of   Goju   Ryu   Seisan.   Much   more it looks like an own Kata.
Wanshu
Meaning of the name Name of a chinese Master Moves: 32
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito-Ryu
Level Medium
Probably   the   Kata   Wanshu   found   it's   way   to   Okinawa   by   the   chinese   Martial   Arts expert Wang Ji. Two   very   different   versions   of   wanshu   are   known.   The   Tomari   Wanshu   shows   a   big relationship   to   the   Shotokan   Kata   Empi.   But   the   movement   to   the   beginning   of Wanshu is identical to the beginning of Kata Chinte. And   also   like   Chinte   Wanshu   is   an   extraordinary   Kata,   which   is   unusual   for   the concepts of the Shorin-Ryu Kata. And this could mean that the Wanshu is in fact also a very old Kata which possilbe has the same chinese roots as Chinte. Wanshu   teaches,   also   for   Shorin-Ryu   unusual,   concepts   for   close   combat   and   a   kind of hidden techniques (hidden fist). In   both   versions   of   Wanshu   we   find   techniques   for   throwing   and   for   to   attack   the lower area like the groin and the knee.
Tomari Wanshu
Meaning of the name Name of a chinese Master Moves: 40
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito-Ryu
Level Medium
The   Tomari   Wanshu   much   is   totally   different   to   the   Wanshu.   It   is   possible   to   come   to the   conlcusion   that   it   is   a   different   Kata.   The   beginning   of   Tomari   Wanshu   is   identical to   the   beginning   of   the   Kata   Jion.   But   some   kind   of   connection   to   the   Chinte,   like   we find in Wanshu, don't exist. The   Shotokan   Kata   Empi   has   been   created   from   Tomari   Wanshu.   Tomari   Wanshu teaches    also    very    effective    techniques    for    close    combat    with    a    lot    of    throwing techniques. With   Age   zuki   we   find   also   a   special   kind   of   doing   a   tsuki.   Some   passages   of   the   Kata also have a relationsship to other old Kata like Patsai and Rohai.
Matsumora Rohai Matsumura Rohai
Rohai Shodan Rohai Nidan Rohai Sandan
Seishan Wanshu Tomari Wanshu
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane Moves: 45
Matsumora Rohai
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito Ryu
Level Medium
Rohai   is   known   in   the   Matsumora   school   of   Tomari-te   lineage   as   well as   in   the   Matsumura   school   of   Shuri-te   lineage.   Rohai   is   from   the white   crane   style   but   not   as   dynamic   as   Chinto   and   also   not   as strange and mysterious as Hakutsuru, Hakkaku or Haufa. The   Kata   shows   elegance   and   majetic   and   it   is   very   difficult   to   find the right way between calmness and dynamic. With   Shuto   Barai   using   Sagi   Ashi   Dachi   it   includes   a   very   elegance motion followed by a really demolishing counterattack. Rohai is very good for to improve the skills of balance. The   Kata   Meikyo   is   known   as   the   Shotokan   version   of   Rohai.   Reason for this is a similar movement in the beginning. But   in   fact   the   Meikyo   shows   no   other   relationship   to   the   Rohai wheter in technical part nor in the concept.
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane Moves: 41
Matsumura Rohai
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito Ryu
Level Medium
The    Matsumura    Rohai    is    similiar    to    the    Matsumora    Rohai.    Both versions   are   nearly   identical,   though   the   Matsumura   shool   prefere   a more   direct   performance   of   the   techniques.   Also   the   stances   are different and the whole Kata has a higher dynamic. For   the   beginning   of   the   Kata   we   find   different   versions.   One   of   them shows a combination with three techniques, instead of one. The   exact   number   of   Movements   of   the   most   of   traditional   Kata   can not   be   count   for   sure,   because   a   lot   of   schools   have   own   versions   and add   or   delete   a   movement.   Sokon   Matsumura   has   developed   the Rohai   not   only   in   some   parts   and   techniques,   but   also   in   the   inner dynamic, still using the principles of the white crane shool. The   Matsumora   Rohai   shows   the   calm   and   proudful   crane,   while   the Matsumura Rohai shows an vital and activ Rohai.
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane 1 Moves: 21
Rohai Shodan
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito Ryu
Level Medium
Yasutsune   Itosu   made   Rohai   Shodan   based   on   the   Kata   Rohai.   The Kata is also known as Itosu no Rohai Shodan. These   Rohai   form   is   in   the   beginning   similar   to   the   Matsumura   Rohai, but   continues   with   an   enbusen   to   the   side.   Also   clear   differences   are to   see   in   the   used   techniques.   So   the   Ashi   Barai   techniques   are   more complicate   and   demand   a   precise   insertion   of   the   body   with   a   good using   of   the   body   weight.   The   Kata   is   very   short,   but   interesting.   It   is versatile and with elegance.
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane 2 Moves: 51
Rohai Nidan
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito Ryu
Level Medium
In   counterpart   ot   the   traditionell   Rohai   Kata,   the   Rohai   Nidan   shows non of the typical specialities the other Rohai have. So   we   don't   find   any   technique   which   will   be   done   standing   on   one leg.   The   Kata   is   also   clearly   longer   as   Rohai,   or   Rohai   Shodan   and Sandan. Some   techniques   like   Shuto   Uke   in   Kosa   Dachi   will   be   done   again   and again   in   4   directions   at   all.   Analyzing   this   part   of   the   Kata   we   find some kind of a mirror concept. And   in   fact   these   Rohai   Nidan   seems   to   be   the   basic   Kata   for   the development of Kata Meikyo.
Meaning of the name Vision of a White Crane 3 Moves: 40
Rohai Sandan
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito Ryu
Level Medium
Rohai   Sandan   also   don't   use   the   typical   techniques   of   the   traditionel Rohai.   It   is   shorter   than   Rohai   Nidan,   but   clearly   longer   than   Rohai Shodan.   Also,   like   the   other   versions   of   Itosu   Rohai,   the   Kata   is   not often   to   see.   But   the   technique   Sukui   Uke   has   been   taken   into   the development of Shotokan Kata Meikyo. Rohai   Sandan   includes   also   techniques   which   we   find   in   the   Kosokun Sho.   Because   of   this   it   can   be   supposed   if   Itosu   did   first   create   Rohai Sandan or Kosokun Sho. Some   techniques   using   the   centrifugal   force   of   the   shoulder   joint   and reminds   to   the   Kata   Chinte.   And   furthermore   the   beginning   of   the Kata   is   a   bit   similar   to   the   concept   of   the   beginning   from   Matsumura Rohai and very dynamic.
Meaning of the name Thirteen Moves: 56
Seishan
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito Ryu
Level Medium
Seishan   is   mainly   known   in   the   Style   of   Matsumura   Sokon.   This Seishan is the root of Shotokan Kata Hangetsu. Only   the   beginning   reminds   to   the   Kata   Seisan   of   Naha-te   (Shorei- ryu) The   main   part   of   the   Kata   follows   the   concept   and   the   combinations of the Aragaki Seisan. So   it’s   hard   to   believe   that   Seishan   is   a   just   a   version   of   Goju   Ryu Seisan. Much more it looks like an own Kata.
Meaning of the name Name of a chinese Master Moves: 32
Wanshu
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito Ryu
Level Medium
Probably   the   Kata   Wanshu   found   it's   way   to   Okinawa   by   the   chinese Martial Arts expert Wang Ji. Two   very   different   versions   of   wanshu   are   known.   The   Tomari   Wanshu shows    a    big    relationship    to    the    Shotokan    Kata    Empi.    But    the movement   to   the   beginning   of   Wanshu   is   identical   to   the   beginning   of Kata Chinte. And    also    like    Chinte    Wanshu    is    an    extraordinary    Kata,    which    is unusual for the concepts of the Shorin-Ryu Kata. And   this   could   mean   that   the   Wanshu   is   in   fact   also   a   very   old   Kata which possilbe has the same chinese roots as Chinte. Wanshu    teaches,    also    for    Shorin-Ryu    unusual,    concepts    for    close combat and a kind of hidden techniques (hidden fist). In   both   versions   of   Wanshu   we   find   techniques   for   throwing   and   for   to attack the lower area like the groin and the knee.
Meaning of the name Name of a chinese Master Moves: 40
Tomari Wanshu
Classification Shorin-Ryu
Style Shito Ryu
Level Medium
The   Tomari   Wanshu   much   is   totally   different   to   the   Wanshu.   It   is possible   to   come   to   the   conlcusion   that   it   is   a   different   Kata.   The beginning   of   Tomari   Wanshu   is   identical   to   the   beginning   of   the   Kata Jion.   But   some   kind   of   connection   to   the   Chinte,   like   we   find   in Wanshu, don't exist. The   Shotokan   Kata   Empi   has   been   created   from   Tomari   Wanshu. Tomari    Wanshu    teaches    also    very    effective    techniques    for    close combat with a lot of throwing techniques. With   Age   zuki   we   find   also   a   special   kind   of   doing   a   tsuki.   Some passages   of   the   Kata   also   have   a   relationsship   to   other   old   Kata   like Patsai and Rohai.
Karatekata
Shuri-/Tomari-te 3
Karatekata
Shuri-/Tomari-te 3
Shito Ryu

Die    Kata    Rohai    ist    in    der    Matsumora    (Tomari)    und    Matsumura-Schule    (Shuri) gleichermaßen   bekannt.   Sie   stammt   aus   dem   Stil   des   Weißen   Kranichs   ist   aber weniger    dynamisch    und    kämpferisch    als    Chinto    und    auch    nicht    so    „fremdartig“, geheimnisvoll    wie Hakutsuru,    Hakkaku    oder    Haufa.    Die    Kata    strahlt    Eleganz    und Würde   aus   und   es   ist   sehr   schwierig   das   richtige   Maß   zwischen   Ruhe   und   Dynamik   zu finden.  Sie   enthält   mit   Shuto-Barai   in   Sagi   Ashi   Dachi   eine   sehr   elegante   Ausweichbewegung der   aber   ein   vernichtender   Gegenangriff   folgt.   Rohai   eignet   sich   auch   sehr   gut   zum Üben des Gleichgewichts. Die   Kata   Meikyo   wird   oft   als   Shotokan-Version   von   Rohai   bezeichnet.   Als   Grundlage     hierfür   wird   die   Anfangsbewegung   gesehen,   die   bei   beiden   Kata   sehr   ähnlich   ist. Tatsächlich   zeigt   Meikyo   ansonsten   jedoch   keine   Ähnlichkeit   weder   im   Konzept   noch technisch zu der traditionellen Rohai.
Matsumora Rohai
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers Bewegungen: 45
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito-Ryu
Einstufung Medium
Die    Masumura    Rohai    entspricht    im    wesentlichen    der    Matsumora    Rohai.    Beide Versionen   sind   nahezu   identisch,   wobei   die   Matsumura   Schule   eine   etwas   direktere Ausführung    der    Techniken    unter    teilweiser    Verwendung    anderer    Stände    und    mit insgesamt einer höheren Dynamik betreibt. Den   Beginn   der   Kata   betreffend   gibt   es   zwei   unterschiedliche   Versionen,   wobei   in   der einen eine zusätzliche Kombination aus insgesamt drei Techniken enthalten ist. Daher   kann   die   genaue   Zahl   an   Techniken   und   Bewegungen   von   traditionellen   Kata nicht immer sicher ermittelt werden. So   hat   Sokon   Matsumura   die   Rohai   nicht   nur   in   Ablauf   und   Zahl   der   Techniken gegenüber    der    Rohai    verändert,    sondern    auch    die    Innere    Dynamik    erhöht,    bei gleichzeitiger Beibehaltung der Prinzipien der Kranich Schule. Vom   Charater   her   konnte   man   der   Rohai   das   Aussehen   eines   erhabenen,   überlegenen Kranichs   zugestehen,   während   man   bei   der   Matsumura   Rohai   einen   überaus   agilen und entschlossenen Kranich sieht.
Matsumura Rohai
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers Bewegungen: 41
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito-Ryu
Einstufung Medium
Yasutsune   Itosu   schuf,   basierend   auf   der   Kata   Rohai   die   Version   Rohai   Shodan.   Auch bekannt    als    Itosu    no    Rohai    Shodan.    Diese    Rohai    Form    ähnelt    zu    Beginn    der Matsumura   Rohai.      Anschließend   folgt   sie   jedoch   einem   rein   seitlichen   Enbusen   und zeigt    auch    deutliche    Unterschiede    bei    den    verwendeten    Techniken.    Die    in    ihr enthaltenen    Ashi    Barai    Techniken    sind    kompliziert    und    verlangen    einen    präzisen Körpereinsatz     mit     gezielter     Verlagerung     des     Körpergewichts.     Die     Kata     ist ausgesprochen   kurz,   trotzdem   aber   sehr   interessant,   abwechslungsreich   und   in   der Ausführung nicht ohne Eleganz.
Rohai Shodan
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers 1 Bewegungen: 21
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito-Ryu
Einstufung Medium
Im    Gegensatz    zu    den    üblichen    Rohai    Kata    enthält    die    Rohai    Nidan    keine    der besonderen   Merkmale   der   alten   Rohai.   So   kommen   Techniken,   die   auf   einem   Bein stehend   ausgeführt   werden   überhaupt   nicht   vor.   Die   Kata   ist   deutlich   länger   als   Rohai, oder Rohai Shodan und Sandan. Einige   Techniken   wie   Shuto   Uke   in   Kosa   Dachi   werden   immer   wieder   und   in   insgesamt vier   Richtungen   ausgeführt.   Analysiert   man   diesen   Teil   der   Kata,   läßt   sich   am   Ende ein   insgesamt   spiegelbildliches   Konzept   erkennen.   Tatsächlich   ist   die   Kata   Rohai   Nidan die Basis Kata für die Entwicklung der Meikyo.
Rohai Nidan
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers 2 Bewegungen: 51
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito-Ryu
Einstufung Medium
Rohai   Sandan   verwendet   ebenfalls   keine   typischen   Techniken   der   alten   Rohai.   Sie   ist kürzer   als   Rohai   Nidan,   aber   deutlich   länger   als   Rohai   Shodan.   Auch   sie   ist   nicht   sehr weit   verbreitet.   Allerdings   wurde   die   Technik   Sukui   Uke   in   die   Entwicklung   der   Kata Meikyo des Shotokan übernommen. Rohai   Sandan   enthält   Techniken,   die   auch   in   der   Kosokun   Sho   zu   finden   sind.   Nun kann   spekuliert   werden   ob   von   Itosu   zuerst   die   Rohai   Sandan   oder   die   Kosokun   Sho entwickelt wurde. Einige   Techniken   nutzen   die   Zentrifugalkraft   des   Schultergelenks   und   erinnern   an   die Kata   Chinte.   Zudem   folgt   der   Beginn   der   Kata   einem   ähnlichen   Konzept   wie   der Beginn der Matsumura Rohai und ist sehr dynamisch.
Rohai Sandan
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers 3 Bewegungen: 40
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito-Ryu
Einstufung Medium
Seishan wird hauptsächlich in der Schule von Sokon Matsumura geübt und überliefert. Auf Basis dieser Kata wurde im Shotokan die Hangetsu entwickelt. Lediglich der Beginn erinnert an die Kata Seisan des Naha-te/Goju Ryu (Shorei-Ryu). Der   Hauptteil   der   Kata   folgt   dem   Konzept,   sowie   den   technischen   Kombinationen   der Aragaki Seisan. Somit   ist   es   schwer   vorstellbar   das   Seishan   lediglich   eine   Version   der   Seisan   des   Goju Ryu sein soll. Vielmehr erscheint sie als eigenständige Kata.
Seishan
Bedeutung des Namens Dreizehn Bewegungen: 56
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito-Ryu
Einstufung Medium
Es   wird   vermutet,   dass   diese   Kata   im   16.   Jahrhundert   durch   einen   Chinesischen Meister mit Namen Wang Ji nach Okinawa gelangte. Es    existieren    zwei    sehr    unterschiedliche    Versionen    von    Wanshu.    Die    als    Tomari Wanshu   bekannte   Form   hat   die   größte   Ähnlichkeit   mit   der   Shotokan   Kata   Empi.   Die Anfangsbewegung von Wanshu hingegen ist identisch mit der von Chinte. Und   wie   Chinte   ist   Wanshu   eine   eigentümliche   Kata,   die   eine   Besonderheit   im   Konzept der Kata des Shorin-Ryu darstellt. Und   dies   könnte   bedeuten,   dass   es   sich   bei   Wanshu   und   Chinte   tatsächlich   um   sehr alte   Kata   handelt,   die   möglicherweise   sogar   derselben   Schule   angehörten.   Wanshu lehrt   dabei,   für   Shorin-Ryu   unübliche,   Verfahren   des   Nahkampfes   und   des   versteckten Schlagens   (Hidden   Fist).   In   beiden   Versionen   sind   Wurftechniken   und   Angriffe   in   den unteren   Bereich   des   Gegners   (Leiste,   Knie)   enthalten.   Die   Beinarbeit   ist   kompliziert, ungewöhnlich und sehr schwierig zu meistern.
Wanshu
Bedeutung des Namens Name eines chinesischen Meisters Bewegungen: 32
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito-Ryu
Einstufung Medium
Die   Tomari   Wanshu   unterscheidet   sich   sehr   von   der   Wanshu.   So   sehr,   dass   man   sagen kann, dass es sich tatsächlich um zwei unterschiedliche Kata handelt. Der   Beginn   der   Tomari   Wanshu   ist   identisch   mit   der   Anfangsbewegung   der   Kata   Jion. Eine   Verbindung   zur   Chinte,   wie   bei   Wanshu,   gibt   es   hier   nicht.   Aus   Tomari   Wanshu wurde   im   Shotokan   die   Empi   entwickelt.   Beide   Kata   sind   immer   noch   sehr   ähnlich. Tomari   Wanshu   lehrt   sehr   effektive   Nahkampftechniken,   die   viele   Würfe   enthalten.   Mit Age   zuki   enthält   sie   zudem   eine   besondere,   verdeckt   geschlagene   Form   des   tsuki. Einige   Passagen   der   Kata   haben   zudem   große   Ähnlichkeit   mit   anderen   alten   Kata   wie Patsai und Rohai.
Tomari Wanshu
Bedeutung des Namens Name eines chinesischen Meisters Bewegungen: 40
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito-Ryu Shotokan
Einstufung Medium
Matsumora Rohai Matsumura Rohai
Rohai Shodan Rohai Nidan Rohai Sandan
Seishan Wanshu Tomari Wanshu
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers Bewegungen: 45
Matsumora Rohai
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito Ryu
Die   Kata   Rohai   ist   in   der   Matsumora   (Tomari)   und   Matsumura-Schule (Shuri)   gleichermaßen   bekannt.   Sie   stammt   aus   dem   Stil   des   Weißen Kranichs   ist   aber   weniger   dynamisch   und   kämpferisch   als   Chinto   und auch   nicht   so   „fremdartig“,   geheimnisvoll   wie Hakutsuru,   Hakkaku oder   Haufa.   Die   Kata   strahlt   Eleganz   und   Würde   aus   und   es   ist   sehr schwierig das richtige Maß zwischen Ruhe und Dynamik zu finden.  Sie   enthält   mit   Shuto-Barai   in   Sagi   Ashi   Dachi   eine   sehr   elegante Ausweichbewegung   der   aber   ein   vernichtender   Gegenangriff   folgt. Rohai eignet sich auch sehr gut zum Üben des Gleichgewichts. Die   Kata   Meikyo   wird   oft   als   Shotokan-Version   von   Rohai   bezeichnet. Als   Grundlage      hierfür   wird   die   Anfangsbewegung   gesehen,   die   bei beiden    Kata    sehr    ähnlich    ist.    Tatsächlich    zeigt    Meikyo    ansonsten jedoch   keine   Ähnlichkeit   weder   im   Konzept   noch   technisch   zu   der traditionellen Rohai.
Einstufung Medium
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers Bewegungen: 41
Matsumura Rohai
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito Ryu
Die    Masumura    Rohai    entspricht    im    wesentlichen    der    Matsumora Rohai.   Beide   Versionen   sind   nahezu   identisch,   wobei   die   Matsumura Schule     eine     etwas     direktere     Ausführung     der     Techniken     unter teilweiser    Verwendung    anderer    Stände    und    mit    insgesamt    einer höheren Dynamik betreibt. Den    Beginn    der    Kata    betreffend    gibt    es    zwei    unterschiedliche Versionen,    wobei    in    der    einen    eine    zusätzliche    Kombination    aus insgesamt drei Techniken enthalten ist. Daher   kann   die   genaue   Zahl   an   Techniken   und   Bewegungen   von traditionellen Kata nicht immer sicher ermittelt werden. So   hat   Sokon   Matsumura   die   Rohai   nicht   nur   in   Ablauf   und   Zahl   der Techniken   gegenüber   der   Rohai   verändert,   sondern   auch   die   Innere Dynamik   erhöht,   bei   gleichzeitiger   Beibehaltung   der   Prinzipien   der Kranich Schule. Vom    Charater    her    konnte    man    der    Rohai    das    Aussehen    eines erhabenen,   überlegenen   Kranichs   zugestehen,   während   man   bei   der Matsumura   Rohai   einen   überaus   agilen   und   entschlossenen   Kranich sieht.
Einstufung Medium
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers 1 Bewegungen: 21
Rohai Shodan
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito Ryu
Yasutsune   Itosu   schuf,   basierend   auf   der   Kata   Rohai   die   Version   Rohai Shodan.   Auch   bekannt   als   Itosu   no   Rohai   Shodan.   Diese   Rohai   Form ähnelt   zu   Beginn   der   Matsumura   Rohai.      Anschließend   folgt   sie   jedoch einem   rein   seitlichen   Enbusen   und   zeigt   auch   deutliche   Unterschiede bei   den   verwendeten   Techniken.   Die   in   ihr   enthaltenen   Ashi   Barai Techniken      sind      kompliziert      und      verlangen      einen      präzisen Körpereinsatz   mit   gezielter   Verlagerung   des   Körpergewichts.   Die   Kata ist      ausgesprochen      kurz,      trotzdem      aber      sehr      interessant, abwechslungsreich und in der Ausführung nicht ohne Eleganz.
Einstufung Medium
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers 2 Bewegungen: 51
Rohai Nidan
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito Ryu
Im   Gegensatz   zu   den   üblichen   Rohai   Kata   enthält   die   Rohai   Nidan keine    der    besonderen    Merkmale    der    alten    Rohai.    So    kommen Techniken,   die   auf   einem   Bein   stehend   ausgeführt   werden   überhaupt nicht   vor.   Die   Kata   ist   deutlich   länger   als   Rohai,   oder   Rohai   Shodan und Sandan. Einige   Techniken   wie   Shuto   Uke   in   Kosa   Dachi   werden   immer   wieder und   in   insgesamt   vier   Richtungen   ausgeführt.   Analysiert   man   diesen Teil    der    Kata,    läßt    sich    am    Ende    ein    insgesamt    spiegelbildliches Konzept   erkennen.   Tatsächlich   ist   die   Kata   Rohai   Nidan   die   Basis   Kata für die Entwicklung der Meikyo.
Einstufung Medium
Bedeutung des Namens Visionen eines Weißen Reihers 3 Bewegungen: 40
Rohai Sandan
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito Ryu
Rohai    Sandan    verwendet    ebenfalls    keine    typischen    Techniken    der alten   Rohai.   Sie   ist   kürzer   als   Rohai   Nidan,   aber   deutlich   länger   als Rohai    Shodan.    Auch    sie    ist    nicht    sehr    weit    verbreitet.    Allerdings wurde   die   Technik   Sukui   Uke   in   die   Entwicklung   der   Kata   Meikyo   des Shotokan übernommen. Rohai   Sandan   enthält   Techniken,   die   auch   in   der   Kosokun   Sho   zu finden   sind.   Nun   kann   spekuliert   werden   ob   von   Itosu   zuerst   die Rohai Sandan oder die Kosokun Sho entwickelt wurde. Einige   Techniken   nutzen   die   Zentrifugalkraft   des   Schultergelenks   und erinnern   an   die   Kata   Chinte.   Zudem   folgt   der   Beginn   der   Kata   einem ähnlichen   Konzept   wie   der   Beginn   der   Matsumura   Rohai   und   ist   sehr dynamisch.
Einstufung Medium
Bedeutung des Namens Dreizehn Bewegungen: 56
Seishan
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito Ryu
Seishan   wird   hauptsächlich   in   der   Schule   von   Sokon   Matsumura   geübt und überliefert. Auf Basis dieser Kata wurde im Shotokan die Hangetsu entwickelt. Lediglich   der   Beginn   erinnert   an   die   Kata   Seisan   des   Naha-te/Goju Ryu (Shorei-Ryu). Der   Hauptteil   der   Kata   folgt   dem   Konzept,   sowie   den   technischen Kombinationen der Aragaki Seisan. Somit   ist   es   schwer   vorstellbar   das   Seishan   lediglich   eine   Version   der Seisan     des     Goju     Ryu     sein     soll.     Vielmehr     erscheint     sie     als eigenständige Kata.
Einstufung Medium
Bedeutung des Namens Name eines chinesischen Meister Bewegungen: 32
Wanshu
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito Ryu
Es   wird   vermutet,   dass   diese   Kata   im   16.   Jahrhundert   durch   einen Chinesischen Meister mit Namen Wang Ji nach Okinawa gelangte. Es   existieren   zwei   sehr   unterschiedliche   Versionen   von   Wanshu.   Die als   Tomari   Wanshu   bekannte   Form   hat   die   größte   Ähnlichkeit   mit   der Shotokan   Kata   Empi.   Die   Anfangsbewegung   von   Wanshu   hingegen   ist identisch mit der von Chinte. Und    wie    Chinte    ist    Wanshu    eine    eigentümliche    Kata,    die    eine Besonderheit im Konzept der Kata des Shorin-Ryu darstellt. Und   dies   könnte   bedeuten,   dass   es   sich   bei   Wanshu   und   Chinte tatsächlich    um    sehr    alte    Kata    handelt,    die    möglicherweise    sogar derselben   Schule   angehörten.   Wanshu   lehrt   dabei,   für   Shorin-Ryu unübliche,   Verfahren   des   Nahkampfes   und   des   versteckten   Schlagens (Hidden   Fist).   In   beiden   Versionen   sind   Wurftechniken   und   Angriffe   in den    unteren    Bereich    des    Gegners    (Leiste,    Knie)    enthalten.    Die Beinarbeit    ist    kompliziert,    ungewöhnlich    und    sehr    schwierig    zu meistern.
Einstufung Medium
Bedeutung des Namens Name eines chinesischen Meister Bewegungen: 40
Tomari Wanshu
Klassifizierung Shorin-Ryu
Stilrichtungen Shito Ryu
Die   Tomari   Wanshu   unterscheidet   sich   sehr   von   der   Wanshu.   So   sehr, dass     man     sagen     kann,     dass     es     sich     tatsächlich     um     zwei unterschiedliche Kata handelt. Der      Beginn      der      Tomari      Wanshu      ist      identisch      mit      der Anfangsbewegung   der   Kata   Jion.   Eine   Verbindung   zur   Chinte,   wie   bei Wanshu,   gibt   es   hier   nicht.   Aus   Tomari   Wanshu   wurde   im   Shotokan die   Empi   entwickelt.   Beide   Kata   sind   immer   noch   sehr   ähnlich.   Tomari Wanshu    lehrt    sehr    effektive    Nahkampftechniken,    die    viele    Würfe enthalten.   Mit   Age   zuki   enthält   sie   zudem   eine   besondere,   verdeckt geschlagene   Form   des   tsuki.   Einige   Passagen   der   Kata   haben   zudem große Ähnlichkeit mit anderen alten Kata wie Patsai und Rohai.
Einstufung Medium
Karatekata
Shuri-/Tomari-te 3
Karatekata
Shuri-/Tomari-te 3
Shito Ryu