Shotokan   is   based   on   the   Shuri-te   of   Yasutsune   Itosu.   As   Gichin   Funakoshi   did   start   to   teach   Karate   in   Japan   he   did   use   15   Kata.   Probably more Kata have been added to the style. Probably a work of his son Yoshitaka Funakoshi. So   the   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Chinte,   Wankan,   Nijushiho,   Unsu   and   Gojushiho   (Dai/Sho)   are   taken   from   the   Shito-Ryu   style,   but has been changed. I’s not for sure who did this. Also unknow is who made Meikyo. In   case   of   Sochin   Yoshitak   Funakoshi   made   the   Kata.   The   Kata   Meikyo   isn't   a   tradtitional   form,   but   a   summary   of   the   Kata   Rohai   Shodan, Rohai Nidan and Rohai Sandan. Empi, Hangetsu, Gankaku, Wankan are based on Tomari Wanshu, Seishan, Chinto, Matsukaze. The   names   of   the   Kata   Heian   Shodan   and   Nidan   was   exchanged.   So   the   Shotokan   Heian   Shodan   is   representative   for   the   traditional   Heian Nidan and the Shotokan Heian Nidan for the traditional Heian Shodan. Many   of   the   great   masters   don't   bind   theirself   to   a   number   of   Kata,   but   study   Kata   also   behind   the   frontier   of   the   own   style.   Shihan Kanazawa   did   add   the   Tomari   Chinto,   which   is   known   in   the   Shorin   Ryu   Seibukan   as   well   as   in   the   Matsubayashi   Shorin-Ryu   to   his   school and gave it the name Gankaku Sho. Also he practise the Happoren from the Shito-Ryu style and the Seienchin.
Taikyoku Shodan Taikyoku Nidan Taikyoku Sandan Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Tekki Shodan Tekki Nidan Tekki Sandan
Bassai Dai Bassai Sho Kanku Dai Kanku Sho Empi Hangestsu Jion Ji’in Jitte Gankaku
Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Tekki Shodan Tekki Nidan Tekki Sandan
Ursprüngliche Kata des Shotokan von Gichin Funakoshi
Anker History of Shotokan Born   in   Shuri/Okinawa   Gichin   Funakoshi   was   accept   as   a   student   of   Karate   by   Anko   Azato.   First   he   did   learn   the   authentic   Naihanchin   Kata (Tekki),   which   includes   more   than   100   movements   in   their   orignal   version.   Yasutsune   Itosu,   but   maybe   firstly   Sokon   Matsumura,   did separat the Kata to the now known three Naifanchin Kata. In   the   age   of   50   Funakoshi   went   to   Tokoy   for   to   teach   Karate   to   the   japanese.   The   official   story   is   that   he   did   go   there   by   advice   of   a   group of   Okinawa   Karate   masters   as   a   sign   of   understandig   between   Okinawa   and   Japan   by   teaching   them   the   secret   Art   of   Karate.   And   though the   Butokukai,   the   main   organization   for   all   japanese   Martial   Arts,   was   interest   in   Karate,   it's   said   that   Funakoshi   did   need   a   couple   of   years to   build   a   Dojo   with   a   small   group   of   students.   Funakoshi   did   mainly   teach   the   Karate   which   was   from   Itosu   for   to   teach   Karate   on elementary   schools   of   Okinawa   with   the   original   forms   of   Heian   and   Tekki   Kata.   Looking   at   Funakoshi   on   old   images   doing   Kokutsu   Dachi with   Heiwan   Uke   the   picture   is   tilted   with   technique   of   Heian   Shodan.   And   this   is   correct.   Because   the   names   has   been   exchanged   later.   Also he did'nt name his Karate Shotokan. To   be   asked   for   the   different   styles   of   Karate   his   answer   was:   "There   is   only   Karate!"   A   big   lost   for   Funakoshis   work   was   the   second   world war.   In   this   time   he   lost   many   of   his   advanced   students   and   there   was   no   possibility   for   a   normal   training.   After   the   war   Funakoshi   was more   than   80   years   old   and   his   son   Yoshitaka   Funakoshi   was   the   main   person   in   the   Dojo.   Allthough   today   we   nearly   nothing   find   written about   Yoshitaka,   we   can   guess   that   the   present   Shotokan   is   mainly   his   work.   He   probably   did   change   the   Kata   and   the   biomechanics   to   the typical   Kihon   of   Shotokan.   Also   the   Kata   Sochin   is   created   by   Yoshitaka   Funakoshi.   The   stance   Fudo-Dachi   and   also   the   development   of Kokutsu Dachin in length and depth shall be his work. In   the   beginning   Gichin   Funakoshi   did   teach   15   Kata   which   was   the   five   Heian   the   three   Tekki,   Bassai   Dai,   Kanku   Dai,   Jion,   Jitte,   Hangetsu, Gankaku.   Later,   probably   from   Yoshitaka,   the   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Jiin,   Meikyo,   Chinte,   Wankan,   Nijushiho,   Sochin,   Unsu   and Gojushiho   has   been   added   to   the   style.   From   Gojushiho   someone   made   the   two   versions   Dai   and   Sho.   Except   the   Kata   Meikyo,   which   is   a summary   build   from   the   Kata   Rohai   Shodan,   Nidan   and   Sandan   and   the   Sochin   which   was   made   by   Yoshitaka,   all   other   Kata   was   taken   from Shito   Ryu   based   on   the   contact   Gichin   Funakoshi   had   to   Kenwa   Mabuni.   But   in   Shotokan   these   Kata   was   strongly   changed   in   many   parts and got also the typical Shotokan Kihon. After   Yoshitaka   passed   away   too   much   early   because   of   illness,   it   was   Masatoshi   Nakayama   who   found   the   JKA   (Japan   Karate   Association) and did probably start to use the name Shotokan (Shoto = a nickname of Funakoshi, Kan = house). He   did   organize   a   very   strong   training   for   Instructors   which   was   5   times   a   week   for   4   hours   at   all.   Also   he   was   mainly   involved   into   the change   of   Karate   to   a   Karate   for   to   use   in   tournaments.   Famous   master   like   Kanazawa,   Enoeda,   Shirai,   Yahara,   Kawasoe,   Tanaka,   Abe,   Asai, Kase are the proof for the success of these kind of training. The   JKA   did   send   these   instructors   out   of   Japan   to   teach   Karate   worldwide.   So   Kanazawa   went   to   Germany,   Enoeda   to   England,   Kase   to France,   Shirai   to   Italy.   These   masters   are   mainly   standing   for   the   success   to   spread   Shotokan.   But   Nakayama's   work   was   not   without   any disucss   and   older   students   of   Funakoshi   like   Shigeru   Egami   didn't   accpet   Nakayama's   way.   So   Egami   found   1958   the   style   of   Shotokai.   After Nakayama   passed   away   also   in   the   Shotokan   and   the   JKA   a   separation   did   start   and   some   master   found   their   own   schools,   like   Kanazawa, Asai,   Shoij   and   Nishijama.   And   in   fact   this   is   some   kind   of   return   to   the   former   times,   where   no   Karate   style   was,   but   only   Karate   masters. And masters like Kanazawa also study the old traditionell ways of Okinawa Karate.
Chinte Meikyo Wankan Nijushiho Sochin Unsu Gojushiho Dai Gojushiho Sho
Bassai Dai Kanku Dai Jion Jitte Empi Hangetsu Gankaku
The   fact   that   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Chinte,   Wankan   (Matsukaze),   Nijushiho,   Unsu   and   Gojushiho   has   been   taken   from   Shito   Ryu and   that   Kata   Meikyo   obvisious   is   a   summary   of   Kata   Rohai   Shodan,   Rohai   Nidan   and   Rohai   Sandan   create   the   question   if   Gichin   Funakoshi did know these Kata properly. If he did know, they must’nt have taken from Shito Ryu.
Shotokan   is   based   on   the   Shuri-te   of   Yasutsune   Itosu.   As   Gichin Funakoshi   did   start   to   teach   Karate   in   Japan   he   did   use   15   Kata. Probably   More   Kata   have   been   added   to   the   style   maybe   by   his   son Yoshitaka Funakoshi. So   the   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Chinte,   Wankan,   Nijushiho, Unsu    and    Gojushiho    (Dai/Sho)    are    imported    from    the    Shito-Ryu style,   but   has   been   changed.   I’s   not   for   sure   who   did   this.   Also unknow is who made Meikyo. In    case    of    Sochin    Yoshitak    Funakoshi    made    the    Kata.    The    Kata Meikyo   isn't   a   tradtitional   form,   but   a   summary   of   the   Kata   Rohai Shodan,   Rohai   Nidan   and   Rohai   Sandan.   Empi,   Hangetsu,   Gankaku and   Wankan   are   based   on   Tomari   Wanshu,   Seishan,   Chinto   and Matsukaze. The   names   of   the   Kata   Heian   Shodan   and   Nidan   was   exchanged.   So the    Shotokan    Heian    Shodan    is    representative    for    the    traditional Heian   Nidan   and   the   Shotokan   Heian   Nidan   for   the   traditional   Heian Shodan. Many   of   the   great   masters   don't   bind   theirself   to   a   number   of   Kata, but   study   Kata   also   behind   the   frontier   of   the   own   style.   Shihan Kanazawa   did   add   the   Tomari   Chinto,   which   is   known   in   the   Shorin Ryu   Seibukan   as   well   as   in   the   Matsubayashi   Shorin-Ryu   to   his school   and   gave   her   the   name   Gankaku   Sho.   Also   he   practise   the Happoren from the Shito-Ryu style and the Seienchin.
Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Tekki Shodan Tekki Nidan Tekki Sandan
Ursprüngliche Kata des Shotokan von Gichin Funakoshi
Bassai Dai Kanku Dai Jion Jitte Empi Hangetsu Gankaku
Taikyoku Shodan Taikyoku Nidan Taikyoku Sandan Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Tekki Shodan Tekki Nidan Tekki Sandan
Bassai Dai Bassai Sho Kanku Dai Kanku Sho Empi Hangestsu Jion Ji’in Jitte Gankaku
Chinte Meikyo Wankan Nijushiho Sochin Unsu Gojushiho Dai Gojushiho Sho
The   fact   that   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Chinte,   Wankan (Matsukaze),   Nijushiho,   Unsu   and   Gojushiho   has   been   taken   from Shito   Ryu   and   that   Kata   Meikyo   obvisious   is   a   summary   of   Kata Rohai   Shodan,   Rohai   Nidan   and   Rohai   Sandan   create   the   question   if Gichin   Funakoshi   did   know   these   Kata   properly.   If   he   did   know,   they must’nt have taken from Shito Ryu.
Anker History of Shotokan Born   in   Shuri/Okinawa   Gichin   Funakoshi   was   accept   as   a   student   of Karate   by   Anko   Azato.   First   he   did   learn   the   authentic   Naihanchin Kata   (Tekki),   which   includes   more   than   100   movements   in   their orignal     version.     Yasutsune     Itosu,     but     maybe     firstly     Sokon Matsumura,   did   separat   the   Kata   to   the   now   known   three   Naifanchin Kata. In   the   age   of   50   Funakoshi   went   to   Tokoy   for   to   teach   Karate   to   the japanese.   The   official   story   is   that   he   did   go   there   by   advice   of   a group   of   Okinawa   Karate   masters   as   a   sign   of   understandig   between Okinawa   and   Japan   by   teaching   them   the   secret   Art   of   Karate.   And though   the   Butokukai,   the   main   organization   for   all   japanese   Martial Arts,   was   interest   in   Karate,   it's   said   that   Funakoshi   did   need   a couple   of   years   to   build   a   Dojo   with   a   small   group   of   students. Funakoshi   did   mainly   teach   the   Karate   which   was   from   Itosu   for   to teach   Karate   on   elementary   schools   of   Okinawa   with   the   original forms   of   Heian   and   Tekki   Kata.   Looking   at   Funakoshi   on   old   images doing    Kokutsu    Dachi    with    Heiwan    Uke    the    picture    is    tilted    with technique   of   Heian   Shodan.   And   this   is   correct.   Because   the   names has been exchanged later. Also he did'nt name his Karate Shotokan. To   be   asked   for   the   different   styles   of   Karate   his   answer   was:   "There is   only   Karate!"   A   big   lost   for   Funakoshis   work   was   the   second   world war.   In   this   time   he   lost   many   of   his   advanced   students   and   there was   no   possibility   for   a   normal   training.   After   the   war   Funakoshi   was more   than   80   years   old   and   his   son   Yoshitaka   Funakoshi   was   the main   person   in   the   Dojo.   Allthough   today   we   nearly   nothing   find written   about   Yoshitaka,   we   can   guess   that   the   present   Shotokan   is mainly    his    work.    He    probably    did    change    the    Kata    and    the biomechanics   to   the   typical   Kihon   of   Shotokan.   Also   the   Kata   Sochin is   created   by   Yoshitaka   Funakoshi.   The   stance   Fudo-Dachi   and   also the   development   of   Kokutsu   Dachin   in   length   and   depth   shall   be   his work. In   the   beginning   Gichin   Funakoshi   did   teach   15   Kata   which   was   the five    Heian    the    three    Tekki,    Bassai    Dai,    Kanku    Dai,    Jion,    Jitte, Hangetsu,   Gankaku.   Later,   probably   from   Yoshitaka,   the   Kata   Bassai Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Jiin,   Meikyo,   Chinte,   Wankan,   Nijushiho,   Sochin, Unsu   and   Gojushiho   has   been   added   to   the   style.   From   Gojushiho someone    made    the    two    versions    Dai    and    Sho.    Except    the    Kata Meikyo,   which   is   a   summary   build   from   the   Kata   Rohai   Shodan, Nidan   and   Sandan   and   the   Sochin   which   was   made   by   Yoshitaka,   all other   Kata   was   taken   from   Shito   Ryu   based   on   the   contact   Gichin Funakoshi   had   to   Kenwa   Mabuni.   But   in   Shotokan   these   Kata   was strongly   changed   in   many   parts   and   got   also   the   typical   Shotokan Kihon. After   Yoshitaka   passed   away   too   much   early   because   of   illness,   it was    Masatoshi    Nakayama    who    found    the    JKA    (Japan    Karate Association)    and    did    probably    start    to    use    the    name    Shotokan (Shoto = a nickname of Funakoshi, Kan = house). He   did   organize   a   very   strong   training   for   Instructors   which   was   5 times   a   week   for   4   hours   at   all.   Also   he   was   mainly   involved   into   the change   of   Karate   to   a   Karate   for   to   use   in   tournaments.   Famous master   like   Kanazawa,   Enoeda,   Shirai,   Yahara,   Kawasoe,   Tanaka, Abe,   Asai,   Kase   are   the   proof   for   the   success   of   these   kind   of training. The   JKA   did   send   these   instructors   out   of   Japan   to   teach   Karate worldwide.   So   Kanazawa   went   to   Germany,   Enoeda   to   England,   Kase to   France,   Shirai   to   Italy.   These   masters   are   mainly   standing   for   the success   to   spread   Shotokan.   But   Nakayama's   work   was   not   without any   disucss   and   older   students   of   Funakoshi   like   Shigeru   Egami didn't   accpet   Nakayama's   way.   So   Egami   found   1958   the   style   of Shotokai.   After   Nakayama   passed   away   also   in   the   Shotokan   and   the JKA   a   separation   did   start   and   some   master   found   their   own   schools, like   Kanazawa,   Asai,   Shoij   and   Nishijama.   And   in   fact   this   is   some kind   of   return   to   the   former   times,   where   no   Karate   style   was,   but only   Karate   masters.   And   masters   like   Kanazawa   also   study   the   old traditionell ways of Okinawa Karate.
Karatekata
Shotokan
Karatekata
Shotokan

Das   Shotokan   basiert   auf   den   Kata   des   Shuri-te   von   Yasutsune   Itosu.   Ursprünglich   wurden   von   Gichin   Funakoshi   in   Japan   15   Kata unterrichtet. Später wurden, möglicherweise auf Initiative seines Sohne Yoshitaka, weitere 11 Kata der Schule hinzugefügt. Die   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Chinte,   Wankan,   Nijushiho,   Unsu   and   Gojushiho   (Dai/Sho)   entstammen   dem   Shito-Ryu,   wurden jedoch stark verändert. Wann   genau   und   durch   wen   diese   Kata   der   Schule   Funakoshi's   hinzugefügt   wurden,   ist   nur   zum   Teil   bekannt.   Die   Shotokan   Version   der   Kata Sochin   z.B.   ist   eine   Entwicklung   von   Yoshitaka   Funakoshi.   Die   Kata   Meikyo   ist   keine   traditionelle   Kata,   sondern   eine   Zusammenfassung   der Kata   Rohai   Shodan,   Rohai   Nidan   und   Rohai   Sandan.   Empi,   Hangetsu,   Gankaku   und   Wankan   sind   Ableitungen   von   Tomari   Wanshu,   Seishan, Chinto   und   Matsukaze.   Heian   Shodan   und   Heian   Nidan   sind   vertauscht.   So   repräsentiert   die   Heian   Shodan   die   ursprüngliche   Heian   Nidan und die Heian Nidan die ursprüngliche Heian Shodan. Viele   große   Meister   legen   sich   nicht   auf   eine   bestimmte   Kata-Auswahl   fest,   sondern   studieren   Kata   über   die   eigenen   Stilgrenzen   hinaus!     Shihan   Kanazawa   hat   seiner   Shotokan-Schule   die   Kata   Tomari   Chinto,   die   auch   im   Shorin   Ryu   Seibukan   sowie   im   Matsubayashi   Shorin   Ryu trainiert wird hinzugefügt und bezeichnet sie als Gankaku Sho. Ebenso übt er auch die Happoren aus dem Shito-Ryu und die Seienchin.
Taikyoku Shodan Taikyoku Nidan Taikyoku Sandan Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Tekki Shodan Tekki Nidan Tekki Sandan
Bassai Dai Bassai Sho Kanku Dai Kanku Sho Empi Hangestsu Jion Ji’in Jitte Gankaku
Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Tekki Shodan Tekki Nidan Tekki Sandan
Ursprüngliche Kata des Shotokan von Gichin Funakoshi
Anker Geschichte des Shotokan Auf   Okinawa   in   Shuri   geboren,   wurde   Gichin   Funakoshi   von   Anko   Azato   als   Schüler   des   Karate   akzeptiert.   Bei   ihm   lernte   er   die   authentische Naihanchin   (Tekki)   Kata,   die   aus   weit   mehr   als   100   Bewegungen   besteht.   Yasutsune   Itosu,   aber   möglicherweise   zuvor   Sokon   Matsumura, zerlegte   diese   Kata   später   in   3   Teile.   1922,   im   Alter   von   50   Jahren,   ging   Funakoshi   nach   Tokyo   um   dort   Karate   zu   unterrichten.   Offiziell   heißt es,   dass   er   von   verschiedenen   Meistern   Okinawa’s   ausgesucht   wurde,   als   Zeichen   der   Völkerverständigung   und   Annäherung   Okinawa’s   an Japan,   die   Kunst   des   Karate   nach   Japan   zu   bringen.   Und   obwohl   man   im   Budotukai,   der   Dachorganisation   aller   Japanischen   Kampfkünste, dem   Karate   sehr   wohlwollend   entgegenkam   heißt   es,   dass   er   Jahre   benötigte   um   eine   Trainingsgruppe   aufzubauen.   Funakoshi   unterrichtete in   erster   Linie   das   Karate   der   Itosu-Schule   mit   den   Original-Versionen   der   Heian-/   und   Tekki-Kata.   Wenn   auf   alten   Bildern   Funakoshi   im Kokutsu   Dachi   mit   Heiwan   Uke   abgebildet   ist   und   die   Bildunterschrift   sagt,   er   übe   Heian   Shodan   so   ist   dies   richtig!   Denn   zu   dieser   Zeit   war tatsächlich   die   heutige   Heian   Nidan   als   Heian   Shodan   und   Heian   Shodan   als   Heian   Nidan   bekannt.   Auch   nannte   er   sein   Karate   nicht Shotokan. Auf   die   verschiedenen   Stile   angesprochen   antwortete   er:   „Es   gibt   nur   Karate!“   Einen   großen   Verlust   für   Funakoshi’s   Arbeit   bedeutete   der Zweite   Weltkrieg   in   dessen   Folge   viele   fortgeschrittene   Schüler   starben   und   an   ein   geregeltes   Training   nicht   zu   denken   war.   Nach   Ende   des Krieges   war   Funakoshi   bereits   über   80   Jahre   alt   und   sein   Sohn   Yoshitaka   Funakoshi   leitete   das   Training.   Obwohl   heutzutage   wenig   über Yoshitaka   geschrieben   wird   kann   man   annehmen,   dass   das   heutige   Shotokan   direkt   auf   ihn   zurückzuführen   ist.   Er   änderte   nicht   nur   die Kata   sondern   auch   die   zugrunde   liegende   Biomechanik   der   Bewegungen   und   Techniken.   So   ist   die   Kata   Sochin   eine   Entwicklung   Yoshitaka’s und auch die Stellung Fudo-Dachi, sowie die Änderung des Kokutsu-Dachi in Länge und Tiefe wird ihm zugeschrieben. Nachdem   Gichin   Funakoshi   ursprünglich   15   Kata   unterrichtete   (Heian   1-5,   Tekki   1-3,   Bassai-Dai,   Kanku-Dai,   Empi,   Jion,   Jitte,   Hangetsu, Gankaku),   kamen   unter   Yoshitaka   noch   die   Kata:   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Meikyo,   Chinte,   Wankan,   Nijushiho,   Sochin,   Unsu,   Gojushiho hinzu.   Aus   Gojushiho   entstanden   die   Versionen   Dai   und   Sho.   Bis   auf   die   Kata   Meikyo,   die   ein   Zusammenfassung   der   Kata   Rohai   Shodan, Nidan   und   Sandan   darstellt,   und   Yoshitaka’s   Sochin,   kamen   diese   Kata   über   den   Kontakt   von   Gichin   Funakoshi   zu   Kenwa   Mabuni   vom   Shito- Ryu   ins   Shotokan,   wurden   hier   jedoch   recht   umfangreich   in   Ablauf   und   Ausführung   verändert   und   mit   dem   typischen   Kihon   des   Shotokan versehen. Nach   Yoshitaka’s   frühem,   krankheitsbedingtem   Tod   gründete   Masatoshi   Nakayama   die   JKA   (Japan   Karate   Association)   und   bezeichnete   das JKA-Karate als Shotokan (Shoto= Künstlername Funakoshi’s, Kan = Haus). Er   organisierte   ein   Leistungstraining   für   zukünftige   Instruktoren   (hierbei   wurde   5   mal   pro   Woche   4   Stunden   trainiert.)   und   war   maßgeblich an der Wandlung des Karate zum Wettkampfsport beteiligt. Berühmte Meister wie Kanazwa, Enoeda, Shirai, Yahara, Kawasoe, Tanaka, Abe, Asai, Kase sind Zeugen vom Erfolg dieses Trainings. In   direkter   Folge   wurden   diese   Instruktoren   der   JKA   beauftragt   Karate   weltweit   zu   unterrichten,   Kanazawa   ging   nach   Deutschland,   Enoeda nach   England,   Kase   nach   Frankreich,   Shirai   nach   Italien,   und   begründeten   damit   den   Erfolg   und   die   Verbreitung   des   Shotokan.   Dabei   war Nakayama’s   Vorgehensweise   nicht   unumstritten   und      einige   ältere   Schüler   Funakoshi’s   lehnten   Nakayama’s   Weg   ab,   so   wie   wie   Shigeru Egami   der   1958   das   Shotokai   gründete.   Nach   Nakayama’s   Tod   kam   es   auch   im   Shotokan   der   JKA   zur   Spaltung   und   viele   Meister   gründeten ihre   eigenen   Schulen,   Kanazwa,   Asai,   Shoij,   Nishijama.   Und   tatsächlich   ist   dies   eine   Rückkehr   zu   vergangenen   Zeiten   wo   es   keine   Karate- Stile   gab   sondern   nur   Karate-Meister.   Und   tatsächlich   beschäftigen   sich   viele   dieser   Meister,   wie   zum   Beispiel   Hirokazu   Kanazawa,   auch   mit dem alten okinawanischen Karate.
Chinte Meikyo Wankan Nijushiho Sochin Unsu Gojushiho Dai Gojushiho Sho
Bassai Dai Kanku Dai Jion Jitte Empi Hangetsu Gankaku
Die   Tatsache,   dass   die   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Chinte,   Wankan   (Matsukaze),   Nijushiho,   Unsu   und   Gojushiho   aus   dem   Shito   Ryu stammen   und   dass   die   Kata   Meikyo   offensichtlich   eine   Zusammenfasunng   der   Kata   Rohai   Shodan,   Rohai   Nidan   und   Rohai   Sandan   ist,   läßt den   Schluß   zu,   das   Gichin   Funakoshi   diese   Kata   nicht   oder   nur   unzureichend   kannte.   Andernfalls   hätten   sie   nicht   aus   dem   Shito   Ryu übernommen werden müssen.
Das   Shotokan   basiert   auf   den   Kata   des   Shuri-te   von   Yasutsune   Itosu. Ursprünglich    wurden    von    Gichin    Funakoshi    in    Japan    15    Kata unterrichtet.    Später    wurden,    möglicherweise    auf    Initiative    seines Sohne Yoshitaka, weitere 11 Kata der Schule hinzugefügt. Die   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Chinte,   Wankan,   Nijushiho, Unsu   and   Gojushiho   (Dai/Sho)   entstammen   dem   Shito-Ryu,   wurden jedoch stark verändert. Wann    genau    und    durch    wen    diese    Kata    der    Schule    Funakoshi's hinzugefügt   wurden,   ist   nur   zum   Teil   bekannt.   Die   Shotokan   Version der   Kata   Sochin   z.B.   ist   eine   Entwicklung   von   Yoshitaka   Funakoshi. Die     Kata     Meikyo     ist     keine     traditionelle     Kata,     sondern     eine Zusammenfassung   der   Kata   Rohai   Shodan,   Rohai   Nidan   und   Rohai Sandan.   Empi,   Hangetsu,   Gankaku   und   Wankan   sind   Ableitungen von   Tomari   Wanshu,   Seishan,   Chinto   und   Matsukaze.   Heian   Shodan und   Heian   Nidan   sind   vertauscht.   So   repräsentiert   die   Heian   Shodan die   ursprüngliche   Heian   Nidan   und   die   Heian   Nidan   die   ursprüngliche Heian Shodan. Viele    große    Meister    legen    sich    nicht    auf    eine    bestimmte    Kata- Auswahl   fest,   sondern   studieren   Kata   über   die   eigenen   Stilgrenzen hinaus!        Shihan    Kanazawa    hat    seiner    Shotokan-Schule    die    Kata Tomari    Chinto,    die    auch    im    Shorin    Ryu    Seibukan    sowie    im Matsubayashi   Shorin   Ryu   trainiert   wird   hinzugefügt   und   bezeichnet sie   als   Gankaku   Sho.   Ebenso   übt   er   auch   die   Happoren   aus   dem Shito-Ryu und die Seienchin.
Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Tekki Shodan Tekki Nidan Tekki Sandan
Ursprüngliche Kata des Shotokan von Gichin Funakoshi
Bassai Dai Kanku Dai Jion Jitte Empi Hangetsu Gankaku
Taikyoku Shodan Taikyoku Nidan Taikyoku Sandan Heian Shodan Heian Nidan Heian Sandan Heian Yondan Heian Godan Tekki Shodan Tekki Nidan Tekki Sandan
Bassai Dai Bassai Sho Kanku Dai Kanku Sho Empi Hangestsu Jion Ji’in Jitte Gankaku
Chinte Meikyo Wankan Nijushiho Sochin Unsu Gojushiho Dai Gojushiho Sho
Die   Tatsache,   dass   die   Kata   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku   Sho,   Ji’in,   Chinte, Wankan   (Matsukaze),   Nijushiho,   Unsu   und   Gojushiho   aus   dem   Shito Ryu    stammen    und    dass    die    Kata    Meikyo    offensichtlich    eine Zusammenfasunng   der   Kata   Rohai   Shodan,   Rohai   Nidan   und   Rohai Sandan   ist,   läßt   den   Schluß   zu,   das   Gichin   Funakoshi   diese   Kata nicht   oder   nur   unzureichend   kannte.   Andernfalls   hätten   sie   nicht   aus dem Shito Ryu übernommen werden müssen.
Anker Geschichte des Shotokan Auf   Okinawa   in   Shuri   geboren,   wurde   Gichin   Funakoshi   von   Anko Azato    als    Schüler    des    Karate    akzeptiert.    Bei    ihm    lernte    er    die authentische   Naihanchin   (Tekki)   Kata,   die   aus   weit   mehr   als   100 Bewegungen   besteht.   Yasutsune   Itosu,   aber   möglicherweise   zuvor Sokon   Matsumura,   zerlegte   diese   Kata   später   in   3   Teile.   1922,   im Alter   von   50   Jahren,   ging   Funakoshi   nach   Tokyo   um   dort   Karate   zu unterrichten.   Offiziell   heißt   es,   dass   er   von   verschiedenen   Meistern Okinawa’s   ausgesucht   wurde,   als   Zeichen   der   Völkerverständigung und   Annäherung   Okinawa’s   an   Japan,   die   Kunst   des   Karate   nach Japan     zu     bringen.     Und     obwohl     man     im     Budotukai,     der Dachorganisation   aller   Japanischen   Kampfkünste,   dem   Karate   sehr wohlwollend   entgegenkam   heißt   es,   dass   er   Jahre   benötigte   um   eine Trainingsgruppe   aufzubauen.   Funakoshi   unterrichtete   in   erster   Linie das   Karate   der   Itosu-Schule   mit   den   Original-Versionen   der   Heian-/ und   Tekki-Kata.   Wenn   auf   alten   Bildern   Funakoshi   im   Kokutsu   Dachi mit   Heiwan   Uke   abgebildet   ist   und   die   Bildunterschrift   sagt,   er   übe Heian   Shodan   so   ist   dies   richtig!   Denn   zu   dieser   Zeit   war   tatsächlich die   heutige   Heian   Nidan   als   Heian   Shodan   und   Heian   Shodan   als Heian Nidan bekannt. Auch nannte er sein Karate nicht Shotokan. Auf   die   verschiedenen   Stile   angesprochen   antwortete   er:   „Es   gibt   nur Karate!“   Einen   großen   Verlust   für   Funakoshi’s   Arbeit   bedeutete   der Zweite    Weltkrieg    in    dessen    Folge    viele    fortgeschrittene    Schüler starben   und   an   ein   geregeltes   Training   nicht   zu   denken   war.   Nach Ende   des   Krieges   war   Funakoshi   bereits   über   80   Jahre   alt   und   sein Sohn   Yoshitaka   Funakoshi   leitete   das   Training.   Obwohl   heutzutage wenig   über   Yoshitaka   geschrieben   wird   kann   man   annehmen,   dass das   heutige   Shotokan   direkt   auf   ihn   zurückzuführen   ist.   Er   änderte nicht   nur   die   Kata   sondern   auch   die   zugrunde   liegende   Biomechanik der    Bewegungen    und    Techniken.    So    ist    die    Kata    Sochin    eine Entwicklung   Yoshitaka’s   und   auch   die   Stellung   Fudo-Dachi,   sowie   die Änderung     des     Kokutsu-Dachi     in     Länge     und     Tiefe     wird     ihm zugeschrieben. Nachdem   Gichin   Funakoshi   ursprünglich   15   Kata   unterrichtete   (Heian 1-5,   Tekki   1-3,   Bassai-Dai,   Kanku-Dai,   Empi,   Jion,   Jitte,   Hangetsu, Gankaku),   kamen   unter   Yoshitaka   noch   die   Kata:   Bassai   Sho,   Kanku Sho,    Ji’in,    Meikyo,    Chinte,    Wankan,    Nijushiho,    Sochin,    Unsu, Gojushiho   hinzu.   Aus   Gojushiho   entstanden   die   Versionen   Dai   und Sho.   Bis   auf   die   Kata   Meikyo,   die   ein   Zusammenfassung   der   Kata Rohai   Shodan,   Nidan   und   Sandan   darstellt,   und   Yoshitaka’s   Sochin, kamen   diese   Kata   über   den   Kontakt   von   Gichin   Funakoshi   zu   Kenwa Mabuni    vom    Shito-Ryu    ins    Shotokan,    wurden    hier    jedoch    recht umfangreich    in    Ablauf    und    Ausführung    verändert    und    mit    dem typischen Kihon des Shotokan versehen. Nach     Yoshitaka’s     frühem,     krankheitsbedingtem     Tod     gründete Masatoshi    Nakayama    die    JKA    (Japan    Karate    Association)    und bezeichnete    das    JKA-Karate    als    Shotokan    (Shoto=    Künstlername Funakoshi’s, Kan = Haus). Er    organisierte    ein    Leistungstraining    für    zukünftige    Instruktoren (hierbei    wurde    5    mal    pro    Woche    4    Stunden    trainiert.)    und    war maßgeblich    an    der    Wandlung    des    Karate    zum    Wettkampfsport beteiligt. Berühmte   Meister   wie   Kanazwa,   Enoeda,   Shirai,   Yahara,   Kawasoe, Tanaka, Abe, Asai, Kase sind Zeugen vom Erfolg dieses Trainings. In    direkter    Folge    wurden    diese    Instruktoren    der    JKA    beauftragt Karate   weltweit   zu   unterrichten,   Kanazawa   ging   nach   Deutschland, Enoeda   nach   England,   Kase   nach   Frankreich,   Shirai   nach   Italien,   und begründeten   damit   den   Erfolg   und   die   Verbreitung   des   Shotokan. Dabei    war    Nakayama’s    Vorgehensweise    nicht    unumstritten    und    einige   ältere   Schüler   Funakoshi’s   lehnten   Nakayama’s   Weg   ab,   so   wie wie     Shigeru     Egami     der     1958     das     Shotokai     gründete.     Nach Nakayama’s   Tod   kam   es   auch   im   Shotokan   der   JKA   zur   Spaltung   und viele   Meister   gründeten   ihre   eigenen   Schulen,   Kanazwa,   Asai,   Shoij, Nishijama.   Und   tatsächlich   ist   dies   eine   Rückkehr   zu   vergangenen Zeiten   wo   es   keine   Karate-Stile   gab   sondern   nur   Karate-Meister.   Und tatsächlich   beschäftigen   sich   viele   dieser   Meister,   wie   zum   Beispiel Hirokazu Kanazawa, auch mit dem alten okinawanischen Karate.
Karatekata
Shotokan
Karatekata
Shotokan